Town of Pine River (founded in 1876) Lincoln County, Wisconsin 2016 Annual Meeting Minutes Saturday, April 23, 2016

Chairman Zeitz called the meeting to order at 1:00 p.m.

The Pledge of Allegiance was said.

It was decided to use a voice vote if one was needed.

The 2015 Annual Meeting Minutes were read by Kathleen Gruetzmacher who substituted for Clerk Herdt. Martin Sizer made a motion to accept the minutes; Loretta Baughan seconded the motion.

Chairman Zeitz went over 2015's highlights:

- Recycling program going well; added dumpsters & renewed Baumgart contract
- American Transmission is updating and moving their site to the east
- Town Caucus had all incumbents nominated again with three new nominations: Amanda Herdt for clerk and Ray Zastrow & Kraig Jaeger for supervisors. The election returned all incumbents to their prior positions except for the clerk.
- Darrin Pagel continues to be our building inspector
- Nortrax chose to annex to the city even after the town board and attorney held meetings with them telling of the benefits of staying with the town
- The town had a scare of losing control of our choice of assessor; the Town's Association and their lobbyists fought hard to keep local control
- Town of Ackley turned over their mile of Ackley Road to Pine River; we will get the road aids in return for maintenance and upkeep
- Russ Schreiber was approved to set up a grain drying facility on Hwy 17
- Constable Phil Sadowski passed away; Hannah Zastrow was appointed to fill the vacancy
- Fire department loan was paid off in September
- Teeples burned property will be handled by a raze order through the town and costs will be added as a special assessment the Teeples' property taxes
- Organic farmer wanted to locate a 20,000 chicken laying facility off Hwy. 64; he backed off
- Town employee Jim Lord resigned his position; Greg Metz transitioned from a part-time employee to full time to fill the vacancy—he will still maintain his Zoning Administrator position with the town

John Uttech gave the 2015 Fire Department report:

- Township is being serviced by 25 fire fighters and 10 first responders
- There were 29 fire related calls (which included 3 structures and 11 mutual aid calls)
- We received mutual aid assistance 7 times
- There were 65 EMS calls in our township
- Fire fighters had 815 hours of training plus volunteered 528 hours for events (rodeo, etc.)
- EMS personnel had 185 hours of training plus volunteered 45 hours plus working at Hodag
- First Responders went through biannual training in March
- CPR classes are offered; 42 CPR Cards issued and 23 First Aid Cards
- The Fire Station was manned for 1,835 hours
- Fire Prevention—24 businesses inspected

- Fire Prevention Program at Pine River School for Young Learners, conducted monthly fire drills and tornado drills and volunteered at Hewit/Texas for fire drills and Corning's open house
- Sparky and Freddie were out and about
- All equipment was tested—ladders, hoses, pump, SCBAs, face mask fit and breathing air compressor
- Light bar on the rescue truck was changed to LED
- September Open House went well—thanks to all who volunteered; made \$16,760.00
- Fireworks display donated by Derik Sukow from Fireworks Depot
- Bake sale made \$485.00
- Remington Foundation gave donations equaling \$7,000.00

Chairman Zeitz made a motion to increase the salary of the clerk and treasurer 5% effective with the new term; seconded by Kathleen Gruetzmacher, made unanimous by show of hands.

Chairman Zeitz reviewed the 2015 Financial Statement. Dave Renken made a motion to accept the financial report; seconded by Warren Gruetzmacher, made unanimous by show of hands.

2016's road project will be Big Eddy Road along with intersections of Liberty/Center Road, Cain Creek/County Line Road and the Eagle Ridge cul-de-sac.

Chairman Zeitz thanked the Town Board: Supervisors Larry Langbecker and Dave Breunig; Amy Duley for the time that she served; Clerk Amanda Herdt and Treasurer Donna Opper. He thanked Attorney Randy Frokjer for all his efforts and for going to meetings with the city, Planning Commission and the Town Board. He thanked our full-time employees Brian Opper and Greg Metz; also Becky Schleif, Dean Lemke and George Janssen. Constable Phil Sadowski is missed; new constable Hannah Zastrow is doing a fine job. He thanked the firefighters and first responders for all that they do for us and also thanked all the donors.

A motion was made by Martin Sizer to hold the next annual meeting Saturday, April 22, 2016 at 1:00 p.m. at the Town Hall; seconded and passed unopposed.

A motion was made to adjourn; seconded and passed unanimously.

Meeting adjourned at 2:30 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Kathleen Gruetzmacher and Amanda Herdt